National 60+/70+
County Cricket Championship

President : Roger Dakin
Vice Presidents: Peter Baxter, Scyld Berry, Henry Blofeld

Weekly Results Summaries All Competitions

Previous Years



England defeat Wales in hard fought match at Cheltenham

England won the toss and chose to bat on a bright sunny day at Cheltenham. The batsmen though were soon struggling after the early loss of Chris Evans with the score on just 2. Calvert and Tarrant tried to rebuild but the run rate was less than two an over for the first 15 overs against some tight bowling by the Wales attack. Calvert fell for 18 and Punchard tried to raise the tempo before he fell to a brilliant diving catch. Bartholomew (24 from 21) lifted the rate and England began to gain the upper hand on a tricky pitch as the score passed 100 in the 29th over. Tarrant reached a solid 50 and eventually fell for 70 from 124 balls as he tried to accelerate in the final overs. Phillips and Stafford fell trying to boost the score and it was left to Bellety and Owen to push for extra runs in the last couple of overs. Tea was taken with England finishing on 176 for 7 from 45 overs.

Following a splendid tea the Wales batsmen built a solid but slow opening partnership against some steady bowling. Owen, Bartholomew, Courtney, Punchard and Phillips were all utilised to try and break the ice but it wasn’t until Young came into the attack (2 wickets in his first over, the first to a good stumping by Bellety, the second to a diving slip catch by Punchard) when the score had reached 60, that the first wickets fell. 98 for 2 then became 119 for 6 as wickets tumbled and overs passed whilst the batsmen tried to get closer to the winning score. The turning point came when opening Kevin Davies was caught by Foster for 42 from 97 balls. In the end Wales fell comfortably short by 38 runs – the wicket takers for England were Young (2 for 28 from 6), Phillips (2 for 16 from 9), Owen (1 for 16 from 9) and Stafford (1 for 18 from 4).

Many thanks to the Cheltenham Club (and Geoff Trett) for the use of the magnificent ground complete with marquee, to Graham Frost and Alistair Pearson for the umpiring and to the two scorers Maggie Boyden and Roger Edwards.


An England 60+ ‘12’ took on the Chairman’s team at Oxford Downs on 8 September.
Asked to bat first England scored a handy 198 for 6 in their 45 overs with good runs coming from Elder (29) Evans (32) and Clements (39) before the Chairman’s team fought back with wickets for Courtney(2) Willis (2) and one each for Sargent and Bartholomew. Jim Phillips scored an excellent 44 from 37 balls to boost the score with late support from Tarrant and Stafford before an excellent tea was taken.
Sargent and Robinson took the game to England with some good running between the wickets interspersed with the odd boundary and the score had moved on to 42 before Robinson was forced to retire on 27. Five wickets then fell for 27 runs as spinners Young and Stafford took control of the game. Late partnerships between Courtney, Belletty and Pegg pushed the score over the 100 mark but the Chairman fell to an excellent catch by Punchard and the final wicket fell with the score on 128 with an over to spare as England finished winners by 70 runs.

Many thanks must go to the Oxford Downs Cricket Club for the use of their excellent facilities and also to the scorers (Maggie Boyden and Neil Harris) and umpires (Bob Chamberlain and John Finch).

The full scorecard can be viewed here:

England now go on to play Wales at Cheltenham on Saturday 15 September starting at 12 noon.

The England team will once again be skippered by John Foster – team as follows:

J Foster (Shrops), D Bartholomew (Lancs), N Belletty (Soms), N Calvert (Lincs), J Courtney (Gloucs), C Evans (Surrey), D Owen (Bucks), J Phillips, (Kent), J Punchard (Lancs), M Stafford (Middx), C Tarrant (Kent), M Young (Essex)

Reserves: S Sargent (Essex) M Southwell (Essex) C Frank (Yorks)


England 60+ v Wales 60+ cancelled due to a bad weather forecast


England 60+ v Wales 60+

The following have been selected to play against Wales on 12 August at Cheltenham CC, Princes Street, GL52 6BE. Start time 1:00 pm – all spectators are welcome.

J Foster (Shrops), M Ivill (Yorks), D Bartholomew (Lancs), N Belletty (Wk, Soms), N Calvert (Lincs), S Clements (Herts), J Courtney (Gloucs), D Elder (Herts), K Harsham (Hants), D Owen (Bucks), D Pegg (Northants), M Young (Essex)


S Sargent (Essex), M Southwell (Essex), M Stafford (Middlesex),C Tarrant (wk) (Kent)

Scorer: Maggie Boyden. Umpire: J Beaman (Hereford)


2018 60+ Fixtures

Sunday 12th August vs Wales at Cheltenham

Saturday 8th September vs Chairmans XI at Oxford Downs


DMS Sports