Spitfire National O60

President: David Lloyd


Cheshire v Northamptonshire

27th September 2012 at Oakham Town Cricket Club (Northamptonshire won the toss): Cheshire 159-9, 45 ovs (Ray Swann 5-34); Northamptonshire 89 ao, 34.1 ovs (Chris Lees 3-14, Dick Powell 3-16) Cheshire won by 70 runs

Cheshire win for the third year running.

Cheshire inserted on a slightly greenish track, obvious considering the rain falls, started brightly with Nick Sharp and Andy Hurworth taking  39 off 8 overs with Sharp (30)  hitting 3 consecutive fours off Dave Ingham. However, the introduction of left  armer  Steve Edwards soon put a stop to any ideas of 200+ and he removed lbw Sharp and Ted Williams immediately. A stranglehold by Edwards and Ray Swann then kept Cheshire pegged back, but John Edwards (23) took the game to the Midlanders, attacking with three fours and a six. All the time Ian Brown stayed there (after Hurworth’s long vigil for 15) and the former's 34 gave Cheshire the base to snaffle valuable runs totalling 159-9 with Ray Swann 5-34 and Edwards 2-18.

Northant’s worst fears were realised immediately as England’s opening bowler Chris Lees, bowled Chris Thomas (0) second ball and then talisman Swann (1) – the high fives couldn’t have got any higher for ‘Noisy’. From then on Northants were on catch up and only whilst Steve Edwards was at the crease did they have a chance. Richard Powell took over the reins at the other end, picking up valuable wickets periodically and despite Edwards valiant 37, Northants finished on 89, well behind, and come the day, well beaten by a very astute and well balanced team, worthy champions. And Cheshire’s twelfth man was Steve Yates, their current  O50 ECB opener. How many sides have that luxury  and strength in depth and credit to Steve for appearing changed on the field, ready to come on at any time.

Martin Pearse

Cheshire - 2012 Champions

Northamptonshire - 2012 Runners Up

The scorecard of the Final is on Play-Cricket


Other 2012 Finals:

1st XI Plate:
30th September: Yorkshire 198-6, 45 ovs (Martin Ivill 63, Phil Taylor 51, Bob Macey 3-39, Devon 188 ao, 43.5 ovs (Bob Eames 66, Phil Taylor 5-25). Yorkshire won by 10 runs

2nd XI Final:
20th September (Kent won the toss): Devon 112-9, 45 ovs; Kent 113-2, 28.4 ovs (Jeff Greenwood-Hone 62*): Kent won by 8 wkts.

2nd XI Plate:
Wales v Hampshire - after several atempts to play this match, it has been decided that the match will not be played and no award will be made.

Over 70s Champions: Sussex 250 pts; Runners-up, Worcestershire 249 pts

Over 60s 3rd XI Champions: Sussex